some emergent markets


grasshopper takes on picard + roving markets by jhuang
July 13, 2010, 5:48 pm
Filed under: Paris | Tags: , , , ,

My earlier post mentioned the abundance of Picard Surgelés all over Paris.  The question of relationships between the two large systems was intriguing.  So, here are some screenshots of a start of a GH definition in attempt to address this issue.

I used these high contrast bitmaps to extract data in Grasshopper: Picards [top] and Roving markets [bottom]

Then I brought them into Grasshopper, which gave me interesting patterns of both systems. Picards are in light gray and is in the lower half of the z-axis.

I then introduced meshes from the various height fields as seen above.

The next step will be a challenge.

The initial thought was to create a mega-mesh that stretched from the top half of the z-axis to the bottom half, which combined points of both systems.  I then tried to take the intersection between that mesh and a flat surface at the z-axis zero.  I hoped that the operation would give me curves that showed a larger pattern of interaction.  Unfortunately, I haven’t found a way to get a mesh to intersect with a surface yet.

So, the investigation continues….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

